We invite you to become a member  of our network. 

The general considerations for an organisation wanting to become a member of the Network are:

  • A firm belief and commitment to the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms
  • A civic educator and/or a youth empowerment organisation such as: a civil society organisation, a non-governmental organisation, researchers, academics, a funding organisation and a civil society organised youth structure
  • Be operational within the Southern and Eastern Africa sub-region or work towards promotion and protection of human rights within this sub-region
  • Be a non-partisan, non-governmental and non-profit organisation.

CENESA Goals

The 22 Southern and Eastern African countries that CENESA intends to reach are:

  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • Tanzania (mainland)
  • Tanzania (Zanzibar)
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Founding Members

Burundi

Observatory of Government Action

Solidarity For Integrated Development- Jjuka (SDI)

Kenya

URAIA Trust

Hanns Seidel Foundation

Well Told Story

Malawi

National Initiative for Civic Education (NICE)

Rwanda

Human Rights First Rwanda Association (HRRFRA)

Governance for Africa

South Africa

Civics Academy

Tanzania

Youth Partnership Countrywide (YPC)

Uganda

Foundation for Human Rights Initiative

Founding Partners

Tunisia

Network for Arab Civic Education (NACE)

Germany

German Federal Agency for Civic Education Events Dept.

Member Organisations

  1. Observatory of Government Action; Burundi
  2. Uraia Trust, Kenya; Uraia.or.ke
  3. Siasa Place, Kenya; siasaplace.com
  4. Badili Africa, Kenya; badiliafrica.org
  5. Ecumenical Centre for Justice and Peace, Kenya
  6. Community Advocacy and Awareness Trust, Kenya; crawntrust.org
  7. Daraja Civic Initiative Forum, Kenya; darajacif.or.ke
  8. National Initiative for Civic Education (NICE) Public Trust Malawi, Malawi; www.nice.mw
  9. Youth Act Alliance, Malawi; actalliance.org
  10. Yuva, Mauritius; yuvamauritius.com
  11. Namibia Institute for Democracy (NID), Namibia; www.nid.org.na
  12. Governance for Africa, Rwanda; governanceforafrica.com
  13. Gate of Wellbeing Organization, Rwanda; http://www.gateofwellbeing.org/
  14. Rwanda Development Organization, Rwanda; http://rdorwanda.org.rw/
  15. Urusaro Women of Change, Rwanda; www.urusaro.org.rw,
  16. Democracy Development Program (DDP), South Africa
  17. Civics Academy, South Africa; www.civicsacademy.co.za
  18. Center for the study of Violence and Reconciliation, South Africa; www.csvr.org.za
  19. African Youth Action Network, South Sudan; http://ayanafrica.org/
  20. Youth Partnership country wide, Tanzania; www.ypc.or.tz
  21. Civic Education Forum for Tanzania. (CETA), Tanzania; 
  22. Community Restoration Initiative Project, Uganda; www.core-initiativeug.org
  23. Assure Uganda (au), Uganda; assureuganda.org
  24. Foundation for Human Rights Initiative, Uganda; www.fhri.or.ug
  25. Regional Centre for International Development Cooperation, Uganda; http://www.rcidco.org/
  26. High Sound for Children, Uganda; www.hscuganda.org
  27. National Initiative for Civic Education in Uganda (NICE) Uganda; https://www.ug.undp.org/
  28. Zanzibar Youth Forum, Zanzibar; www.zanzibaryouthforum.org